Having last year steered his hallowed mixcomp series into double-digit territory, Roger Shah’s ‘Magic Island’ is once again on the horizon, with its incredible eleventh edition. As sure a sign as any of summer’s arrival, June 17 sees Roger and his troop of Balearically minded music-makers return with another clutch of purpose-built, irresistibly sunny sonics.

    While some play fast & loose with terms like ‘team’ and ‘family’, Roger’s Magic Island grouping is arguably their truest embodiment. Artists like Ingsha, Clarks, Rafael Osmo, Raul Pablo Sanchez and others have been with the series near enough from the start, and on Vol. 11 they are once again contributing fresh studio wares. ‘Family’ is also used in its most literal sense too, as Roger’s son Noah Shah brings three new deep-house-tipped productions (‘Out Of Time’, ‘Phoenix’ & ‘Animus’) to its first disc. Families have newer members too and ‘Volume 11’ brings first-time M.I. appearances from emerging talents like Magnettor, Ditoma, Archers & MainDain, Julie Dvir and John Colombani.

    It almost goes without saying that there is much too from Roger’s ever-ready cohort of alter-egos, pseudonyms and aliases. For the ‘Island’ ever-shifting moods, times and tides, new music from High Noon At Salinas, San Antonio Harbour, Balearic Session, Guided Gratitude and (naturally!) Sunlounger prevail.

    In a pre-release ‘M.I.11’ message to Magic Islanders, says Roger: “it’s that time of year again guys and I’m super excited to present this new edition to you! Mix 1 is a unique journey, blending everything from Balearic guitars, deep house vibes and melodic techno. For Mix 2 meanwhile, you’ll find the selection gets more uplifting, emotional and floor-driven, as the mix moves between progressive and trance.

    I’d like to take this opportunity to thank all the super-talented artists who contributed to the making of this album. They are the ones who bring that Magic to my Island and I couldn’t do it without them!”


    With its toes firmly in the waters of chill, from Mix 1’s outset Roger wastes no time in wafting those beachfront bar & lounge atmospheres into the album. To do so, he draws on the cooler toned likes of Clarks’ ‘Guanabara’ and ‘Imagine’ by Julie Dvir, as well as Sunflare’s balmy ‘Madeira’, Rafael Osmo’s groovesome ‘Domina’ and others besides. The second mix meanwhile ushers in a more afterdark feel to the album, at its tempos progress and its collective pulse quickens. Putting the album in a primetime frame of mind, you’ll find the likes of Magnettor’s ‘Aurora Borealis’, ‘Lightspeed’ from Thomas Bensche, ‘Nishaya’, courtesy of the Ingsha duo and John Colombani’s ‘Athena’.

    With the arrival of ‘Magic Island’s 11th Volume Of ‘Music For Balearic People’, June 17th sees summer delivered direct to your door. Do what needs to be done here.

    Check out the video to one of our favorite tracks below!

    Roger Shah – Magic Island Vol. 11 Tracklist:

    Mix 1.

    01. Roger Shah pres. Symphony In Deep Minor – Horizon (Intro Mix)
    02. Another Big Cat – New Sunset
    03. Sienna Collective – Alive
    04. Clarks – Guanabara
    05. Sunflare – Madeira
    06. Ditoma – Stay Awake
    07. Roger Shah & Dominik Novak pres. – Watching Over the Tribe
    08. Guided Gratitude – Marumba
    09. Noah Shah – Out Of Time
    10. Corey Goldsmith & Adam Stark – Cesca
    11. Rafael Osmo – Domina
    12. Binary Ensemble vs. Gabrielle AG pres. ELLE – Kailin
    13. High Noon At Salinas – It’s A Good Day
    14. San Antonio Harbour – The Lonely Road
    15. Balearic Session – Indira
    16. Archers & MainDain – Adam’s Ale
    17. Roger Shah & Dominik Novak pres. – Arikara
    18. Noah Shah – Phoenix
    19. Raul Pablo Sanchez – Really?
    20. Julie Dvir – Imagine
    21. Noah Shah – Animus

    Mix 2.

    01. Roger Shah & Thomas Benscher – Morning Dew (Intro Mix)
    02. Magnettor – Aurora Borealis
    03. Vintage & Morelli x Elypsis – Serein (Yelow Remix)
    04. Ciaran McAuley, Roger Shah & Hannah Brine – You and I
    05. Thomas Benscher – Lightspeed
    06. Roger Shah featuring Adrina Thorpe – Skyline (Roger Shah & Yelow Retouch)
    07. Andrew Henry – It Might Have Been
    08. DJ Galaxie – Discover Me
    09. Roger Shah with Omar Vinyl – Freedom
    10. Ingsha – Nishaya
    11. Spy – Accelerate
    12. Fredd Moz – Au Revoir
    13. Sergey Shabanov – Far Away
    14. Sunlounger featuring Susie Ledge & Inger Hansen – Run (Roger Shah Uplifting Mix)
    15. TEKNO, DJ T.H. & Amin Salmee – Castles Made Of Sand
    16. John Colombani – Athena
    17. Sergey Shabanov – Respite
    18. Thomas Knight – Forget Me

    Latest articles

    Related articles